If Grief Is Love

I already feel as if
Some part of me
Has been shattered into pieces
That spread on the wind
Even at the prospect
Of your upcoming death

My body has been going into shaking fits
Without my permission or approval
And I didn’t want to show you
How upset I am
Because it’s your death
Not mine

But I just read
That grief is love

And if grief is love
Then I am so filled with love for you
That my body can barely hold it
It shakes and trembles, outside my control
Because I love you too much for words

The terror, the grief, the pain
They are all just words for love
And if those are love
Then my body shows my love
By quaking like a wild baby bird
Picked up by a human hand for the first time

Leave a Reply

