Away (with credit to George MacDonald)

Away
That’s the only word for where I’m going
Away

And I can’t show you the light
And I can’t show you the love

All I can do is become like glass
And hope that through me you’ll see both

I hope through me you’ll see both love and light
I hope through me you’ll see what I see
When I look beyond death
At the back of the North Wind

Don’t be afraid
There’s nothing to fear
Only love
Only light
Only dissolving

Can you imagine what it’s like
To become the greatest love you’ve ever touched
Can you imagine what it’s like
To be everything good in the world

The North Wind told me it would be this way
The North Wind told me not to be afraid
She told me others would fear Her
But I should not
She said my time would come
Like everyone else
And She would be there waiting for me

When She waits for you
The whole room fills with light and silence
She sits by your bedside
Her light chases away
Even the thought of fear
Let alone fear itself:

You can’t be afraid in Her presence
You can’t even remember what fear was
Until She is long gone

Many a time have I woken up in a hospital
To see my whole room filled with light
And the North Wind sitting at my bedside
Patient, impassive, and loving, all at once
She has all the time in the world
And all the place to be there

She told me stories without words
She took me on journeys without moving
She gave me a red scarf to keep my heart warm
In the desperate winter of delirium
She tethered me to reality
When nothing else would

I knew who She was
You couldn’t lie in a hospital bed
With Her sitting in a chair nearby
Exuding light and truth and love
And not figure out who She was

And if you want to keep on living
You have to resist the urge
To stand up and take Her hand
And walk into the light

But when it’s time
And only when it’s time — you will know —
She will help you
And She will love you
And you will become part of Her love
And you will see the land
At the back of the North Wind

If you ask, She will take away your fear
And it will be the most beauty you have ever seen
And it will be the most love you have ever seen
And you will walk into the beauty
And you will walk into the love
And you will walk into the light
And you will become the light
And you will become the beauty
And you will become the love

And when I look for you
I need only look for Love
And that’s where I will find you
Always

Leave a Reply

