New Moon in Spring

sun goes down, no moon
darkness crosses young grasses
protects baby birds


Mel’s note:  The poem stands alone, but I wanted to say this.  I consider darkness to be my friend, and protective.  But that’s not how darkness is often portrayed.  I wanted to write a haiku that showed how darkness can hide small, vulnerable creatures from predators.  I often feel like a small vulnerable creature beset by predators myself, and darkness feels like protection from that.  I’ve written other poems dealing with this aspect of darkness as well.

Leave a Reply

