Kitchen Privileges

Wandering through my kitchen at night
Is a freedom so breathtaking
It can’t be understood
Except by those who have been told
That if we behave
We may one day in the future
Get “kitchen privileges”
And are tied down 
For being out of bed
After dark
Without permission
I can barely remember those days now
Not consciously
But every time I feel
A rush of joy and beauty
The taste of freedom
In being able to walk around my own house
Especially at night
Oh yes
Something inside me
Remembers
Leave a Reply

