The Hardest Question

I struggled hard for air with every breath
She looked just like a grandma, or a queen
When I had ventured close enough to Death
To glimpse enough to know what I had seen
So regal, yet so humble, she became
Yet radiant as lit from the inside
So loving, yet such sternness, all the same
The things that left impressions on my mind
She did not weigh a feather by my heart
She did not feed my soul to any beast
She merely asked a question, one which starts
To show what matters most, what matters least:
     “And did you act from love and only love?”
     And after that, no question is as tough.

2 thoughts on “The Hardest Question

  1. This is genuinely one of the most stunning and warm pieces of poetry I have ever read – the language is soft and inviting regardless of it’s topic, you have nailed what it means to write a sonnet. Wonderful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

