Love Be With You

What do I do
When I know anything I say to you
May be the last thing I ever say to you
But at the same time
I never know
Which day will really be the last?

How do I say goodbye
When I don’t know if this time
Is really goodbye?

How do I know what to say
When all I want to do
Is crawl into your lap
And play with your beard
Like I did when I was too young
To know what goodbye meant?

What do you say
When you know this time
One of these times
Goodbye will be forever?

Goodbye — short for
God be with ye
And that much
Is appropriate enough
Love be with ye too

2 thoughts on “Love Be With You

Leave a Reply

